Bali and Lombok with the Family and Maud - Reisverslag uit Canggu, Indonesië van Sven Sanders - WaarBenJij.nu Bali and Lombok with the Family and Maud - Reisverslag uit Canggu, Indonesië van Sven Sanders - WaarBenJij.nu

Bali and Lombok with the Family and Maud

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Sven

06 September 2017 | Indonesië, Canggu

Last month was definitely one of the highlights of my travel. My parents came to Bali to visit me. Even though I didn't miss the people back home that much, I was stoked to see my parents again.
While waiting at the airport of Bali I couldn't find my parents but then I saw my sister!!!!! I didn't know she was coming too, what a surprise. Then I saw parents, a big hug and my body filled itself with feelings of gratefulness. So happy that they are here.
Then after half an hour Maud also arrived, crazy how perfect everything worked out. Seeing Maud here as well and travelling with her for about a week.

The first hotel we went to we booked before, the rest of the travel is going to happen the way it will happen. Just taking it day by day. Showing my family how I was travelling last year. I know my mum has some difficulties with not booking anything up front.. what if we don't find anything.. we are with five persons in high season!! But she surrendered to it and I just hope that nothing "bad" will happen.
After the first day chilling at the beach we go to Nusa Penida, a little island next to Bali. It's still undiscovered by the amount of tourist visiting Bali every year. In December I visited this island with my friends as well. With a scooter we explored the beautiful views, steep kliffs and white beaches.
Then we're off to Lombok, climbing the Rinjani Vulcano, 3726m above sea level. We go with a group, guide and porters. Bargaining is what you need to do in Indonesia, it's crazy how much they ask and what would be a normal price. They started at 3.2mln rp (€220,-) and in the end we paid 1.2mln rp (€75,-). It's a game which is sometimes fun and sometimes really ennoying.
Anyway.. the climb was really heavy. Walking in traffic jam to the summit is normally not really my idea of hiking in nature, but here it had something nice about it. The hike to the summit started to 2nd day at 3am in the morning. The view was amazing, a beautiful sunrise which we could see from above the clouds. On my way back to camp I ran down with my guide, it was playful running jumping sliding, taking over each other. Within half an hour we where back. Both exhausted but with a big smile on our faces. We waited for the rest to return, it was obvious that everybody had a hard time with climbing the summit. The altitude made it even harder, some people got altitude sickness, with headache, dizziness and being nauseous. We went down to the lake in the crater and had a swim in the hot springs close to the camp.
The next morning my father and Maud had difficulties with the altitude, we needed to climb 600m up and then all the way down to the village. After a lot of breaks we made it down. Happily most of the hike was in the shade. Beautifully through the forest, with amazing trees, plants and monkeys.
Time to say goodbye to Maud!! It was really nice to see her here. After all the travels we already made last year's we grew a bit a part. But now I saw that was just necessary to develop ourselves and it doesn't change anything in our friendship.

Then a few days chilling on the beach at Kuta Lombok. Driving to some quiet bays and surfed the (for me) perfect waves at Gerupuk. Constant 5ft waves rolling in so nicely!! I wish it was this way in the Netherlands...
And we're off for 3 days to Amed, a beautiful place for snorkeling and diving in the north east of Bali. The life underneath the water is impressive, the coral is still alive. It's the last spot for Ivy on this holiday. Enjoying the Balinese sun for the last time and then it's time to say goodbye. I'm so happy that she came to visit, thinking back on our life. Always happy together, never had a single fight and even though we don't see/speak that often our connection is so beautiful and strong! I'm blessed with my family!! Always unconditionally been supported and able to speak my truth.
Off we go again, we visit eco village for a few days. They work to become completely self sustainable and we get a tour through the fruit farms in the surrounding. It's really quiet here, I realise that my yoga/meditation practise almost stopped last week's.  So this is the perfect place to pick it up again. In the morning and afternoon I do my practise with the sounds of the forest in the background.
After we go to the Beraran lake and the rice paddies at Jatiluwih. Endless rice fields! We arrive early in the morning, still without other tourist it's amazing and we had the luck to have a nice sunshine which made it even better.
The last few days we spend in Canggu with it's surfer vibe and a lot of "perfect" bodies walking back and forward on the beach just to be seen. What are humans a funny, crazy, un-understandable species. Where did it go wrong in evolution... haha.
Well anyway, next to the fact that I got a bad toothache we had a great time. Ate at some really nice vegan places and saw some pretty amazing sunsets. Then the time came to say goodbye for now to my parents. Grateful, blissed, loving, caring and so many other beautiful words to describe this part of my journey.
The last few days I spend in Berawa beach garden hostel, where I stayed in December as well. This time I wasn't drinking, smoking and going out a lot, which made it a totally different experience. One time I went out, and I had a great time. The music was good, I was just dancing by myself the whole time. And after a few hours I had enough and went home. The last few days I was surfing every day, but the waves where way to big for me. Happily I love the whipe outs just as much as standing on the surf board.

Off to Australia!! Still no clue what I need to do over there. I just know that it's time to get out of my bubble with all spiritual people who love working on their sef development, who are awake and interested in healthy food, exercise and self reflection. Who see all species as equal just as most (I hope) people see other cultures as equal.
For me it's time to confront myself again with western societies where materialism and money are goals and means for happiness.

Love Sven

  • 06 September 2017 - 14:27

    Stef En Karin:

    Hoi Sven,
    Ook wij hebben enorm genoten om jou weer te zien, te omhelzen en je prachtige verhalen te horen! De grootste verrassing om "ons Ivy" mee te nemen was helemaal TOP, gezinnetje weer even compleet, en dan ook nog Maud erbij, wat hebben we veel plezier gehad met z'n allen. Jou manier van reizen is ons nu helemaal duidelijk geworden en was voor ons heeeel relaxed! Geweldig om op scooters de eilanden te verkennen en zo de mooiste plekjes te ontdekken. Fantastisch om de Rinjani vulkaan te beklimmen maar wat was het zwaar. De yogales die jij gaf op 2600 m voor onze groep was heel bijzonder en maakte ons ook heel trots! Je geniet van alles met volle teugen en dat deel je ook. De verhalen die je ons voorgelezen hebt uit je dagboek waren heel puur en vol emotie. Wow wat heb jij veel mooie mensen ontmoet en ervaringen opgedaan. Geniet en laat je verrassen wat er verder op je pad komt.
    Heel veel plezier en succes met werken in Australië. Liefs xxx pap en mams

  • 08 September 2017 - 04:34

    Cheryl:

    Dear Sven,

    You are going to Australia!!! Sending you all my love for your new challenge. Remember hearing you speaking about it and now it's the time for it!
    What a coincident, I also made the decision to go back to Hong Kong for money (the practical need that I now have the courage to take up the responsibility to act on it and for my goal ) and my independence, for the fear I have for the place and the unfinished business in Hong Kong. Feeling thrilled and of course, a bit scared for how it is like in a place with filled with materialism, stress and emotion unavailability, but feeling thrilled to see how am I going to react to it and how much change I have made after this 9 months in Vietnam, this intensive personal growth course! I miss you a lot and still remember what you have taught me and I am sometimes using it (not too often haha) ! Take care and have lots of fun and keep being amazing xx

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Indonesië, Canggu

Sven

Actief sinds 25 Dec. 2012
Verslag gelezen: 620
Totaal aantal bezoekers 141566

Voorgaande reizen:

10 Oktober 2016 - 31 Maart 2017

Azie

27 December 2012 - 23 Maart 2013

Zuid Afrika

Landen bezocht: